Criminal law varies by state, and definitions of the crimes themselves
are no exception.
Domestic violence in one state may not be the same as in another. In Florida, it is defined
as any “assault, aggravated assault, battery, aggravated battery,
sexual assault, sexual battery, stalking, aggravated stalking, kidnapping,
false imprisonment, or any criminal offense resulting in the physical
injury or death of one family or household member by another family or
household member.” Family or household member includes spouses,
former spouses, people related by marriage or blood, people who reside
together like a family, and people who are parents of a child in common.
Depending on the circumstances of the crime, someone accused of domestic
violence could be charged with a first-degree misdemeanor. Penalties for
this kind of crime include up to one year in jail or twelve months’
probation and a $1,000 fine. Additionally, the accused will face additional
mandatory penalties under Florida Statutes Chapter 741, including the
- 12 months of probation
- Completion of a twenty-six-week Batterer’s Intervention Program (BIP)
- 5 days in jail (if the accused is guilty and bodily injury was caused)
- Community service
- Loss of important civil liberties
- Imposition of an injunction or no-contact order
If you’ve been charged with domestic violence, make sure you have an
experienced Jacksonville criminal defense attorney at your side. Owenby Law, P.C. has helped thousands of people in the past
decade through their legal problems. Our skilled lawyers understand how
being accused of a crime can be stressful and frightening. We are committed
to protecting your rights and freedom.
Contact us today to schedule a free initial consultation.