Florida is extremely strict when it comes to prosecuting weapons crimes.
If you’ve been accused, be sure to hire a criminal defense attorney
as soon as possible who can help defend your rights and your freedom. A
felony charge can follow you for the rest of your life, and the social stigma
of being a felon can make it difficult for most people to get hired and
hold a good job.
The most common weapons and firearm offenses include:
- Carrying a concealed weapon
- Carrying a concealed firearm
- Improper exhibition of a dangerous weapon or firearm
- Possession of a firearm by a convicted felon
- Possession or discharge of destructive device
Misdemeanor Weapons Crimes in Florida
In Florida, there are two misdemeanor weapons charges: carrying a concealed
weapon and improper exhibition of a dangerous weapon or firearm are considered
misdemeanors, and both are in the first degree. If convicted, the accused
could get up to 1 year in jail, up to 1 year of probation, and be fined
up to $1,000 in legal penalties.
Felony Weapons Crimes in Florida
All other weapons offenses are felonies. Carrying a concealed firearm is
a third-degree felony and is assigned a Level 5 offense severity ranking
under Florida’s Criminal Punishment Code. A conviction could lead
to up to 5 years in prison, up to 5 years of probation, and fines of up
Possession of a firearm by a convicted felon is a second-degree felony
and is a Level 5 offense. Under Florida’s 10-20-Life law, a felon
who is found to be in possession of a firearm is required to serve a 3-year
minimum mandatory sentence. A conviction could also lead to up to 15 years
in prison, up to 15 years of probation, and fines of up to $10,000.
Discharge of destructive device comes with several other potential charges,
including the following:
- Simple possession or discharge of destructive device
- Possession or discharge with intent to damage or injure
- Discharge of destructive device causing property damage or injury
- Discharge of destructive device causing death
A simple possession conviction is a third-degree felony and is a Level
6 offense. It could lead to up to 15 years in prison, up to 15 years of
probation and up to $10,000 in fines. The punishments can go up from there,
however. Discharging the device and causing damage or injury can get a
person up to 30 years in prison, up to 30 years of probation, and up to
$10,000 in fines. If the device caused a death, the person could be convicted
of life in prison without the possibility of parole or the death sentence.
Consult a Jacksonville Criminal Defense Lawyer Today
Owenby Law, P.A. is a highly qualified
criminal defense law firm that can offer you compassionate legal advocacy, well-versed
legal insight based on working more than a thousand cases, skilled legal
representation, and full guidance through each stage of your case. We
understand how challenging and scary facing a criminal charge can be.
When you retain an attorney at our firm, we will guide you through every
step of the process and help you remain calm and level-headed through
to your case’s conclusion.
Contact us at (904) 770-3141 or fill out our
online form to schedule a free initial consultation with us today.