Penalties for Weapons Crimes in Florida

Penalties for Weapons Crimes in Florida

Florida is extremely strict when it comes to prosecuting weapons crimes. If you’ve been accused, be sure to hire a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible who can help defend your rights and your freedom. A felony charge can follow you for the rest of your life, and the social stigma of being a felon can make it difficult for most people to get hired and hold a good job.

The most common weapons and firearm offenses include:

  • Carrying a concealed weapon
  • Carrying a concealed firearm
  • Improper exhibition of a dangerous weapon or firearm
  • Possession of a firearm by a convicted felon
  • Possession or discharge of destructive device

Misdemeanor Weapons Crimes in Florida

In Florida, there are two misdemeanor weapons charges: carrying a concealed weapon and improper exhibition of a dangerous weapon or firearm are considered misdemeanors, and both are in the first degree. If convicted, the accused could get up to 1 year in jail, up to 1 year of probation, and be fined up to $1,000 in legal penalties.

Felony Weapons Crimes in Florida

All other weapons offenses are felonies. Carrying a concealed firearm is a third-degree felony and is assigned a Level 5 offense severity ranking under Florida’s Criminal Punishment Code. A conviction could lead to up to 5 years in prison, up to 5 years of probation, and fines of up to $5,000.

Possession of a firearm by a convicted felon is a second-degree felony and is a Level 5 offense. Under Florida’s 10-20-Life law, a felon who is found to be in possession of a firearm is required to serve a 3-year minimum mandatory sentence. A conviction could also lead to up to 15 years in prison, up to 15 years of probation, and fines of up to $10,000.

Discharge of destructive device comes with several other potential charges, including the following:

  • Simple possession or discharge of destructive device
  • Possession or discharge with intent to damage or injure
  • Discharge of destructive device causing property damage or injury
  • Discharge of destructive device causing death

A simple possession conviction is a third-degree felony and is a Level 6 offense. It could lead to up to 15 years in prison, up to 15 years of probation and up to $10,000 in fines. The punishments can go up from there, however. Discharging the device and causing damage or injury can get a person up to 30 years in prison, up to 30 years of probation, and up to $10,000 in fines. If the device caused a death, the person could be convicted of life in prison without the possibility of parole or the death sentence.

Consult a Jacksonville Criminal Defense Lawyer Today

Owenby Law, P.A. is a highly qualified criminal defense law firm that can offer you compassionate legal advocacy, well-versed legal insight based on working more than a thousand cases, skilled legal representation, and full guidance through each stage of your case. We understand how challenging and scary facing a criminal charge can be. When you retain an attorney at our firm, we will guide you through every step of the process and help you remain calm and level-headed through to your case’s conclusion.

Contact us at (904) 770-3141 or fill out our online form to schedule a free initial consultation with us today.

Categories:

Get an Immediate Response

We Are Standing By & Ready to Help With Your Case
    • Please enter your name.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
    • Please enter your email address.
      This isn't a valid email address.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.