Skip to Content

What are the Requirements to Get a Divorce in Florida?

Join the Owenby Law Team
Profile of man with beard and hand on chin thinking

Divorce laws vary from state to state. It’s important to know the laws in your state before beginning the divorce process so you don’t encounter any hiccups along the way.

Below, our Jacksonville family law attorneys explain Florida’s requirements for divorce.

How to Get Divorced in Florida

Before beginning the divorce process, see if there is any way your marriage can be saved. Marriage counseling and other therapies can be very beneficial for couples going through a rough patch.

If you believe your marriage is unsalvageable and want to proceed with a divorce, then you will likely go through the following steps:

  • File for a dissolution of marriage. In order to do this, you must prove the marriage is “irretrievably broken.” Additionally, either you or your spouse must have lived in Florida for six months prior to filing.
  • Your spouse must file an answer within 20 days of being served.
  • You and your spouse must provide financial documents within 45 days of the petition being served.
  • You and your spouse must attend mediation in Duval, Clay, Nassau, and St. John’s counties before a trial date is set.
  • You and your spouse may reach an agreement during mediation without needing to go to court. However, if you cannot agree on certain aspects of your divorce, you will present evidence and testimony to a judge who makes the final decision on the contested issues.

Considering a Florida Divorce? We’re Here to Help

If you would like to end your marriage, our Jacksonville family law attorneys are here to help you explore all your options and find the solution that best suits your unique needs. We have over 125 years of combined experience ready to work for you.

Contact Owenby Law, P.A. at (904) 770-3141 to schedule a free initial consultation.